From Unemployed To Underemployed

December 8, 2011 at 9:42 pm | Posted in Business Ops, Job Search, Temping, Work Scenerios | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve now been at my temp job for a month.

I’ve realized what a different kind of experience this is for me.  If you’re an Admin. that’s chosen temping until something more permanent comes along, these points may end up being helpful or, at the very least, something to meditate on.

1. Getting to know a new office.  I think Admins are generally friendly people.  They have to be to succeed at work.  When you’re a temp, you’re almost a ghost.  I’ve found it tougher to ‘settle in’ because of this.  There may be an exception here given that I’m working for a state agency.

2.  The realization that you’ve been out of the business culture for a while and what that means.  I quickly got used to waking up earlier, going on a 45 minute commute, and dressing in business casual.  I’m still working at understanding certain business protocols and rules, dealing with upper management, and learning who takes care of what.

3. Understanding that you’re still a good worker, even though you haven’t been working.  This is something that I struggled with.  After about nine days I was wondering if this job was right for me.  I was feeling inadequate.  I took a night to think it over and reminded myself of my value as an Admin, the kudos I received at my old job, and that I am an intelligent woman.

4. The frustration of being in a ‘lower’ position or in one without as much responsibility.  This is one I only recently became aware of.  For six years I was under little supervision and had both Administrative Assistant and Office Manager tasks and obligations.  I was part of the office ramp-up, so I not only greased the wheels in that office, but I created the gears!  I don’t run the show anymore and I have to be careful not to step on anyone’s toes.

5. Making your resume look better.  Since I started my job search I’ve read hundreds of articles about resumes, interviews, dressing for success, just to name a few subjects.  One constant was to either temp or volunteer so potential employers see you’re staying on top of skills.  It’s one reason I agreed to take my current position even though it’s less money than I’m getting on unemployment.  So far I’ve been disappointed.  I’m working in an HR department.  I’ve had only a small amount of previous experience in this kind of work.  I thought it would be a great skill set to develop.  Right now is a slow time for state agencies.  I really don’t know why they rushed to hire me.  Most of what I do is filing and answering the phone.  I’m hoping for more training when the new year starts.  So is a potential employer impressed if you’re working at a level below the one of your most previous position?  I won’t know that until I interview again.

One thing for sure, I keep learning more and more about being unemployed.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

So What Do You Think?

Entries and comments feeds.

