Two More Interviews

September 9, 2011 at 1:52 pm | Posted in Interviewing, Job Search, Opinions | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

I just got back from my second interview of the week.  Yesterday my interview was with a local prep school for the position of administrative assistant to the Director of Finance and Accounting.

Today’s interview was with a local hospital for an ‘as needed’ medical records clerk.

I severely sprained my ankle last Friday and I still can’t put my full weight on it.  I’m limping along using a cane.  I didn’t want to cancel my interviews so I gritted my teeth and went to both, chauffeured by my husband since I can’t drive yet.  What better way to look dependable!  In both interviews I was asked about  my attendance at work, which has always been excellent, I stressed that and then said, “I even come to work with a sprained ankle”.

The interviews this week both were panel ones, three and four people.  I’ve heard this is becoming more and more common, but hadn’t experienced it before.  At first I thought it would be more daunting, but in the long run I think I like them.  I’ve dealt with the Human Resources person, the direct supervisor, and the department head or director all at once.  I like dealing with the different personalities and different types of managing.  I like the different types of questions I got from the different points of view of what may become my working relationship with the panel members.  I think it’s good for the prospective employee because more than one opinion is used in the final hiring decision.  I suggest to anyone who knows this type of interview is coming up to prepare by thinking of the typical interview questions, then think about the different ways they may be asked depending on which management person you may be dealing with.  For example: one person may ask “Tell me about one of your weaknesses at work”, another may say, “What are you doing to correct your weaknesses on the job?”  There is a difference here between recognizing a problem and solving one.

At least for the next 48 hours I’ll rest my foot, cross my fingers, and hope for the best.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

So What Do You Think?

Entries and comments feeds.

