Daydreaming

August 12, 2011 at 8:16 pm | Posted in Daily Life, Positive | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

When things aren’t going as well as I had hoped daydreaming helps a little.  I don’t think I’m in denial, it just keeps me from getting too down. Psychology Today says that a lot of people won’t even talk about daydreaming because of shame and guilt based on others believing it’s a bad thing. It has actually been shown that daydreaming is an extremely creative process.  It can be helpful because active visualization can help you problem solve. I guess I’m one of those people who doesn’t mind sharing their daydreams.  This is my most recent:

I bought a lottery ticket the other day and I’ve noticed that I’ve been doing it more and more any time I have an extra buck or two.

What if I really won?  What would I do?

These are the top things that came to mind. These are after my knees buckle and I cry.

Sure money doesn’t buy you happiness, but without it, there sure is a lot of misery.

 

  • Scream, yell, and hug my husband assuring him that everything will be all right
  • Call our daughter, scream, yell, and tell her everything will be all right.
  • Take a deep breath (and tell myself everything will be all right.)
  • Call my two best friends, scream yell, and make plans to see each other.
  • Call my attorney.
  • Call my broker and financial advisor.
  • Call my bank.
  • Call the lottery agency.
  • Take another deep breath.
  • Go to any of my favorite expensive restaurants.
  • Get all bills and loans together and plan the payoff.
  • Pay off the rest of the lease and buy/or build the dream house we’ve planned.
  • Set up a fund for homeless housing in the county I used to work in.
  • Get everything to really trick out my 2010 Mustang.
  • Take the Caribbean cruise we had to cancel two years ago.
  • Buy some health insurance.
  • Start planning my set up to become self-employed as a (part-time?) Professional Organizer.
  • Change the name of my blog to ‘Debbie’s Reprieve’.

Finally, fall asleep with a smile on my face, in my husband’s arms, without one thought to keep me up all night.

What would you do if you won the lottery?  Take that extra dollar and good luck!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Daydreaming (debbiesdesk.com) […]


So What Do You Think?

Entries and comments feeds.

