Suggested Websites for the Week of August 7th

August 7, 2011 at 10:05 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Previous weekly website lists can be found here.

A commentary before the listing for this week

It was recently pointed out to me, for good reason, that I am over-thinking or over-complicating things for every interview I’m going to.  It’s become so bad that my husband had to step in and break off that thought process.

I found it amusing, if not distressing, that most of the sites I came across in this search would the phrase, “don’t over-think it” and go ahead  listing all those tips that made me over-think things in the first place. The other distressing thing is that there are few of the over-thinking sites while there are hundreds, if not thousands, of tips, many times contradicting each other, about interview preparation.

This week I decided to find what was available on the web.

  • To show you the mental health aspect.  What ruminating does to your mental health, one less problem you need.
  • To help with a new interview attitude. How to change your approach to avoid over thinking.
  • To put a new and strange twist on your cover letter/interview. These suggestions are based on Hunter S Thompson and applies to both the cover letter and interview.
  • To make a change in your entire jobs outlook and planning.  Take the Zen approach to job searching and life changes, there are some good links on the site too.

One last note.  Here’s an idea of why I go crazy and over-think what I’m doing. Just a few things in my email inbox

 

That’s it for this week. See what you like here. I’d love to hear from you about it. Remember you can submit a website for the Sunday Readings on my How-To/Forum page.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

So What Do You Think?

Entries and comments feeds.

