Work Scenario #4 – Audit Part 2

July 18, 2011 at 2:04 pm | Posted in Business Ops, Work Scenerios | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Disclaimer: So that some work scenarios make more sense, I’d like to describe the organization I worked with.  A mobile mental health team served severe and persistent mentally ill people in a county in Maryland.  Some descriptions may seem vague or cryptic; it is to preserve the identity of clients, organization, and co-workers.  Some documents are redacted via pixilation.  My specific duties will always remain intact.

This is the second part of the Audit scenario.  The first part is here

Again, Due to privacy protection, some things have to be left out of descriptions.  This information is irrelevant to understanding the processes that were developed and succeeded.

To find out more about the people who our team served, and therefore gain a larger understanding of what my responsibilities demanded go to the ACTA site.

After training the team, the most important part of the audit is, gathering the data.  I started doing this at the end of the month before the audit.

Data was collected for 28 criteria in three categories; organization, services, and structure.  This past year was the fifth time the audit was done and each year I was able to improve on how data was collected and presented.  Because I was trusted in regards to this project I did it with little or no supervision and was able to develop what I felt worked best.  Monthly collection of data over the year greatly helped.

Most of our records were electronic, truly making my task easier.  I was able to use my knowledge on sorting and reading data in both Excel and the web application my teammates used for notes.  Unfortunately, the contents of these notes were not searchable or sortable.  Gathering this information took the most time.  My grasp of the importance of time management and prioritization was invaluable regarding this task.

During the audit preparations scheduling of my daily duties had to be altered.  This was something else that improved over the years.  My abilities to delegate some of my tasks and taking advantage of my familiarity of each member’s strengths eased enough of my responsibilities so I could concentrate on my data processing.

This job was no different from others that I did.  The problem definition, analysis, solution, finally moving to the next action is the best plan.  My stepping off point was the collection of names and all demographics that went with it (race, DOB, residence type, etc.).  I knew the value of these statistics from my extensive experience in my previous job in the Sampling department of Market Research company.  Since there were aspects that never changed, I could then move to information that was less constant or included specific services that were being taken advantage of by each client.  This was all drawn from an outcome roster that I updated at  the beginning of each year, continuing monthly.

Next step, gathering individual information based on member’s notes, timing, supports, number of appointments, employment history, hospital and jail time, etc.  Some of this information was actually drawn from the meeting calendars I mention in my second work scenario [link].

From this one large spreadsheet and the records, data was broken down into more easily understandable information.  Next step, separating relevant information into appropriate categories.  Usually data was separated into nine categories.  One workbook was created with a worksheet for each collection of data.

My add value was that I knew presentations of graphics can express data, facts, and statistics more easily, especially to busy people like auditors.  The past two years involved creation of charts for demographics, client contacts, and services.  Although not requested of the auditors, I felt it made their job easier.

Finally, I’m proud to say, that because of detailed and accurate data gathering, our team has consistently ranked #1 in the state. With that ranking, we can bill at a higher rate, bringing in more revenue, something very important to a non-profit organization.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

So What Do You Think?

Entries and comments feeds.

