Work Scenario #3 – Part One

June 30, 2011 at 1:13 pm | Posted in Work Scenerios | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Disclaimer: So that some work scenarios make more sense, I’d like to describe the organization I worked for. A mobile mental health team served severe and persistent mentally ill people in a county in Maryland. Some descriptions may seem vague or cryptic, it is to preserve the identity of clients, organization, and co-workers. Some documents are redacted via pixelation. My specific duties will always remain intact.

This scenario will be one of my most complex.  I’m splitting it up into different parts that will show particular problem solving plans.

Below is an example of training that I developed and conducted for my team for the audit.

Due to privacy protection, some things have to be left out of descriptions.  This information is irrelevant to understanding the processes that were developed and succeeded.

This past year was the fifth audit that I had prepared for.  The four earlier years had given me a chance to learn what did and didn’t work.  It was the first year I prepared an extensive training manual for the process.  There were co-workers that had been through the audit before, but a refresher avoids any confusion.  You can never assume that an employee has all the information.  Since most of our office spent 75% of their time in the field, having a hard copy of instructions and notes would be more helpful.  I did go over the manual in a one-hour seminar that supplemented the information contained in it.

I believe it was our blueprint for success.  I believe there is nothing that helps a worker more than understanding why he’s doing a project.  My training booklet started with two paragraphs explaining not only our goal, but also why it was important.

The second goal was to make it understood that following the book aided me.  Once all the information was entered, I was the one that had to sift through it all and extrapolate the information that needed to be evaluated.

The largest part of the manual was about the importance of the online documentation.  At least 6 points on our fidelity scale (specific measured areas of work) were based on the documentation of the workers.  Five types of notes and data had to be included for each client (approx. 100) to be able to correctly score those points.  I explained why they were necessary, how to make them comprehensive, and gave examples of how it’s done correctly.

The hard-copy documents couldn’t be ignored.  Part of the refresher was going over some of the more important documents and signatures that need to be included in filed records.  These were kept track of regularly.  See my first work scenario on quality assurance. It goes over the QA process I developed for those records.

Finally, I quickly went over two things that were done everyday, privacy of our clients, and the extensive responsibilities of the worker that is in charge of each client.  We had to be especially diligent during our yearly two-day audit.

That’s how it started this past year.  The subtitle of my of my handbook, Reminders About Fidelity Scoring and How to Make the Team Look as Good on Paper As It Is In The Field, sums up the purpose.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

So What Do You Think?

Entries and comments feeds.

